Skip to content
Home » Meeting Recaps » Membership Meetings » January 18, 2024 Meeting Summary

January 18, 2024 Meeting Summary

January 18, 2024, 7:00 pm

Room 604; Brooklyn Law School and via Zoom

Ilyssa Meyer, President of IND, welcomed those in attendance in person and on Zoom. She gave a shout-out to members who petitioned to get Joe Biden on the ballot in New York State and to get delegates from the 10th Congressional District to the Democratic Convention on the ballot. Our Congressional District had the highest number of signatures in Kings County.

The body voted (by acclamation) to endorse the slate of DNC delegate candidates from the 10th Congressional District who are pledged to support Joseph R. Biden Jr. for nomination to the Presidency of the United States in the 2024 election.

Elections for the Executive Board of IND were held. The proposed slate for E-Board officers was accepted by acclamation, as was the slate for E-Board members. The following were elected:

President: Seamus Campbell
1st Vice-President: Danielle Zuckerman
2nd Vice-President: Karen Johnson
Corresponding Secretary: Malynda Rascoe
Recording Secretary: Lyn Hill
Treasurer: Vicki Eastus

Board Members-at-Large

  • Steve Brounstein
  • Aileen Doherty
  • Julia Elmaleh-Sachs
  • Bridget Farrell
  • Hal Friedman
  • Sari Kisilevsky
  • Maya Kornberg
  • Art Levy
  • Gregory Monte
  • Joan Millman
  • Susannah Pasquantonio
  • Hamiz Rasool
  • Jason Shelly
  • Nancy Schuh
  • Ira Weinstock

Presentations by candidates asking for endorsement by IND followed the election. (The meeting was now presided over by the new president, Seamus Campbell.

Presentations by candidates for congressional representative from the 10th Congressional District were made by:

  • Bruno Grandsard
  • Laura Thomas
  • Dan Goldman

Presentations by candidates for State Senator were made by:

  • Jabari Brisport (25th SS District)
  • Zellnor Myrie (20th SS District)

Jo Anne Simon, incumbent candidate for the 52nd Assembly District made a presentation.

Presentations for District Leaders of the 52nd Assembly District were made by

  • Aaron Ouyang
  • Lydia Green

City Council Member Shahana Hanif spoke to the members of IND about her recent statements and positions with regard to the War in the Middle East. She responded to a number of comments and questions from members. A previously formulated statement regarding the statements in question was tabled.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Skip to content